Waybourn supported as Tarrant Co. sheriff

Tarrant County electors anointed a new law enforcement leader and gave Republican Donald Trump enough support to push him toward the presidency Tuesday night.

Republican Bill Waybourn earned 80.7 percent of the vote in a race with Libertarian Max Koch III, after defeating incumbent Sheriff Dee Anderson in a spring runoff.

At the top of the ballot, Tarrant County voters gave Trump 51.9 percent of the vote for president, while Democrat Hillary Clinton picked up 43.2 percent of the vote. It was a near mirror to the statewide election in the race.

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton and U.S. Rep. Roger Williams, who both represent some populous in the Tarrant County portion of Burleson, each won re-election to the U.S. House. Barton gathered 52.1 percent support, while Williams gathered 71.9 percent of the Tarrant County vote.

State Rep. Bill Zedler won re-election to the Texas House with 57.0 percent of the Tarrant County vote. He represents the Tarrant County portion of Burleson and other areas of Tarrant County.

Commissioner Roy Charles Brooks was one of the Democrat winners in Tarrant County. He took 58.0 percent of the vote in a contested election to return to his seat.

Burleson Star

327 N.W. Renfro St.
PO Box 909
Burleson, TX 76028-0909

Phone: 817-295-0486
FAX: 817-295-5278