Antique Alley honored, presented service pins to employees

Johnson County commissioners Monday recognized Antique Alley with a proclamation declaring the April 20-22 event’s impact on tourism and economic growth in Alvarado, Cleburne, Grandview, Venus and, for the first time this year, Keene.

Since starting in 1999 as a sidewalk sale in Grandview, Antique Alley has grown to be 30-plus miles of biannual festivals and flea markets.

Commissioners also recognized 21 employees with years-of-service pins.

Debra Decker of the tax assessor’s office was recognized for 40 years of service to the county.

Other county employees receiving length of service pins were:
Karen Jones of the office of County Court at Law No. 2, Judge Steve McClure and Sharon Powell of the office 18th District Court Judge John Neill were honored for 25 years of service.
Ben Nettles of Precinct 3 was recognized for 20 years of service.

Receiving pins for 15 years of service were Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Jeff Monk, Whitney Clotfelter of the county attorney’s office, and Connie Keith of the district attorney’s office.

Those recognized for 10 years of service were Eva Hallen of County Court at Law No. 2, Melissa Lewis of the IT department, Sherron Beard of the audit department and David Georges of adult probation.

Five-year pins were presented to Jamie Moore of emergency management, Lauren Webb of the office of Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1 Constable Matt Wylie and Donna Jackson-Zimmerman of Wylie’s office, Barbarita Diaz of juvenile services, Kenny Lowe of Precinct 4, and Lisa Gilstrap, Vicki Gaudet, Bryan  Henry and Karen Gioeli of the sheriff’s office.

“I used to operate my own business and I know it takes great people to be successful,” County Judge Roger Harmon said. “We have a great county and one reason is the great people who get up every morning in the cold and heat and come to work for our county.”

In the new business portion of the agenda, commissioners reappointed Harmon and Precinct 1 Commissioner Rick Bailey to city of Cleburne Tax Increment Financing No. 3 board of directors for a two-year term.

Commissioners also reappointed Precinct 2 Commissioner Kenny Howell to the city of Burleson TIF No. 2 board of director for a two-year term.

Readers can view court proceedings online at Navigate the tool bar to “Commissioners Court” and scroll down to “Meeting Video.” Click on the court date you want to view.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Johnson County Commissioners Court will be 9 a.m. Monday, April 23, in Room 201 of the Johnson County Courthouse in Cleburne.

Burleson Star

327 N.W. Renfro St.
PO Box 909
Burleson, TX 76028-0909

Phone: 817-295-0486
FAX: 817-295-5278