• Article Image Alt Text
    Laura Horner
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Lindsay Muse

BISD ‘Teachers of the Year’

Two teachers were bestowed with the honor of ‘Teacher of the Year’ last week. Lindsay Muse, a third-grade teacher at the Academy of Leadership and Technology at Mound was announced as the Elementary Teacher of the Year. Laura Horner, a Burleson Collegiate High School teacher, was named Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Muse has worked for BISD for seven years, all at Mound.

“This award is very humbling and I’m truly speechless,” Muse said. “I couldn’t do this without Mrs. Bennet supporting me and my ideas and my team to go along with my ideas.”

Muse did not expect to win and was shocked when Brett Jimerson, superintendent for Burleson ISD, called her name.

“My first thought was, ‘Did he just call my name?’ There is so much to process,” Muse said.

Moreover, Muse said her biggest inspiration for teaching is the children she gets to work with every day.

“My favorite part of teaching is making connections and building relationships with students. I love Burleson ISD and the opportunities they give us as educators. There are so many opportunities to grow as an educator,” Muse said.

Laura Horner started her teaching career in an unusual way. Horner was previously a park ranger and oversaw school programming, field trips and visited classrooms to educate children on public parks. She has been working for BCHS for one year.

“Being named teacher of the year for my campus is a total shock,” Horner said. “I wasn’t quite sure Dr. Jimerson called my name and it took me a second to realize he did call my name. It’s pretty overwhelming.”

Horner said her favorite part about teaching is when she sees her students make a connection with what they are learning.

“I like getting to see the ‘light-bulb’ go off in their heads and they truly understand something,” she said. “I love how close we are at Burleson Collegiate. We truly are a family.”

Horner chose Burleson ISD to be the district to teach in because, “it felt like home.”

“There’s so much support in Burleson ISD,” she said. “It’s incredible to be in a district that does so much for their teachers and recognizes them. I’m just so overwhelmed.”

The two Teachers of the Year were given cars to drive for the summer, courtesy of Burleson Nissan and Burleson Honda.

Congratulations to all the teachers and support staff who were selected from their campuses.

Academy at Nola Dunn
Teacher: Kim Everts
Support Staff: Kevin Cassidy
Para Clerical: Darenda Lynes
Para Instructional: Keri Lewis
Auxiliary Staff: Celeste Jacobs

Academy of the Arts at Bransom
Teacher: Debra Applegate
Support Staff: Jessica Scott  
Para Clerical: Amanda Sard
Para Instructional: Stephanie Kveum
Auxiliary Staff: Meaghan Weldon

Brock Elementary
Teacher: Laura Jost
Support Staff:  Liz Louden-Wittwer
Para Clerical: Deanette Sullivan
Para Instructional: Candace Berry
Auxiliary: Lorena Mendez

Clinkscale Elementary
Teacher: Nicole Trotter
Support Staff: Jaree Sheeler
Para Clerical: Julie Torres
Para Instructional: Stefanie Lewis
Auxiliary Staff: Luisa Ortega

Frazier Elementary
Teacher: Whitney Davis
Support Staff: Kim Tubig
Para Clerical: Tonia McKnight
Para Instructional: Kristi Shawky
Auxiliary Staff: Jonathon Wells

Hajek Elementary
Teacher: Kristi Davis
Support Staff: Stephanie McElroy
Para Clerical: Shaquel Hall
Para Instructional: Maureen Meehan
Auxiliary Staff: Graciela Lagunas

Academy of Leadership and Technology at Mound
Teacher: Lindsey Muse
Support Staff:  Lisa Woods
Para Clerical: Dedra James
Para Instructional: Misty Knadle
Auxiliary: Karen Pointer

Norwood Elementary
Teacher: Melissa Luckenbaugh
Support Staff: Heath Kelly
Para Clerical: Angela Cumbie
Para Instructional: Ashtan Ortiz
Auxiliary Staff: Tiffany Hollingsworth

STEAM Academy at Stribling
Teacher: Jamie Fisher
Support Staff: Kelly Dunn
Para Clerical: Tiffany Barron
Para Instructional: Missi Boatwright
Auxiliary Staff: Angelica Hernandez

Taylor Elementary
Teacher: Rachel Webster
Support Staff: Melissa Tomme Tommy
Para Clerical: Dora Lopez
Para Instructional: Cheryl Romero
Auxiliary Staff: Claudia Ramirez

Hughes Middle School
Teacher: Nicole DeTommaso
Support Staff: Cindy Pickens  
Para Clerical: Tanya Barth
Para Instructional: Garrett Hollowell
Auxiliary Staff: Casimiro Ortega

Kerr Middle School
Teacher:  Mandy McIntosh
Support Staff: Kim Estes
Para Clerical: Darla Kester
Para Instructional: Becky Layne
Auxiliary Staff: Oscar Menjivar

STEAM Middle School
Teacher:  Louise Morgan
Support Staff: Morgan Harrison
Para Clerical: Kim Gilbert
Para Instructional: Megan Ladwig
Auxiliary Staff: Maria Roldan

Burleson High School
Teacher: Mandy Jarrett
Support Staff: Brooke Jasa
Para Clerical: Linda Beauchamp
Para Instructional: Sharaine Craig
Auxiliary Staff: Warren Weaver

Burleson Collegiate High School
Teacher: Laura Horner Stevens
Auxiliary: Rhodie Taylor

Centennial High School
Teacher: Denise Wager
Support Staff: Amy Lanier
Para Clerical: Kellye Meador
Para Instructional: Brandy Kaminski
Auxiliary Staff: Candice Stewart

Crossroads High School
Teacher: Natali Taylor
Support Staff:  Rhonda Evans
Para Clerical:  Janie Trevino
Para Instructional:  Trina Burks
Auxiliary Staff: Alfredo Trevino


Burleson Star

327 N.W. Renfro St.
PO Box 909
Burleson, TX 76028-0909

Phone: 817-295-0486
FAX: 817-295-5278



Article Image Alt TextArticle Image Alt Text