Burleson collegians earn academic honors

Burleson-area residents have earned academic degrees and honors and multiple colleges and universities around the nation. They include:

• Patricia Leigh Lerma, who earned a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Kinesiology Dec. 16, from The University of Texas of the Permian Basin. The commencement ceremony was held in Midland.

• Michael A Perry of Joshua earned a Bachelor of Christian Ministries degree at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor fall Commencement held Dec. 8, in the Bell County Expo in Belton. This was the university’s 161th graduating class as 398 students were awarded degrees. Of those, 264 students received baccalaureate degrees, 97 received master’s degrees, and 37 earned doctoral degrees, including the first 34 graduates of the university’s new Doctor of Physical Therapy program.

• Alan Breedlove of Burleson was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Breedlove was initiated at The University of Texas at Arlington.
Breedlove is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

• At Emporia State University in Emporia, Kansas, Tanner Haynes of Burleson received the Leona Sneed Dillard and Emil L. Dillard Scholarship Fund for the 2017-18 academic year.
Scholarship funds are helping more than 1,400 Emporia State students from Kansas, 23 other states and 31 foreign countries realize their educational dreams during the 2017-18 academic year.
Emporia State University offers over 200 academic programs in the School of Business, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Library and Information Management and The Teachers College. ESU is the only public university in Kansas to have earned national recognition as a College of Distinction, an honor for universities that demonstrate innovative application of high-impact education.

• Outstanding academic work during the 2017 fall semester has earned listings on the President’s Honor Roll for students at East Central University in Ada, Oklahoma, including Meagan Dake and Madison Thompson, both of Burleson.
The President’s Honor Roll is reserved for students who earn A’s in all of their courses for a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. At least 12 credit hours must be completed successfully during the semester to be included on the President’s Honor Roll.
• Four Burleson residents graduated Dec. 16, from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. They are Nora M Isac with a Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies, Shelby Ann Shoults (magna cum laude) and Brittney Devona Tworek with a Bachelor of Arts Degree and Shoults with a Bachelor of Science.

• At Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn.,Chyann Langevin of Burleson qualified for the Fall 2017 Dean’s List. Eligibility is based on a minimum course load of 12 hours and a quality grade point average of 3.5 with no grade below a C.
Approximately 35 percent of Belmont’s 8,080 students qualified for the Fall 2017 Dean’s List. Belmont Provost Dr. Thomas Burns said, “This achievement for the fall semester indicates that these students have placed a high priority on their work at Belmont and have invested time and energy in their studies. It is our strong belief that consistent application in this manner will reap great benefits, which will equip them for a lifetime of learning and growing.”
Belmont University is celebrating its 125th anniversary in academic year 2015-16. Founded in 1890, the University consists of more than 7,400 students who come from every state and more than 25 countries.

• At Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, Okla., Slayla Hope Noakes was named to the President’s Honor Roll for the 2017 fall semester.
An undergraduate student earning all A’s in 12 or more hours during a semester qualifies for the President’s Honor Roll. There were 725 students named to the President’s Honor Roll during the fall semester.

• Hope Anne Kïser, a Burleson native, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Christian studies and psychology from Dallas Baptist University during winter commencement in December Hope was among the 466 graduates receiving associate, undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral degrees from DBU.
Of those graduating, 15 received associate degrees, 221 received bachelor’s degrees, 219 earned master’s degrees, and 11 earned doctoral degrees.
During her time at DBU, Hope was a member of Zeta Chi sorority and made the President’s and Dean’s list.
With an enrollment of 5,067 students, its main campus is located in the foothills of southwest Dallas, and academic centers are located in Plano and the Hurst-Colleyville area.

• At McMurry University in Abilene, Blaine McRay and Hannah Werner, both of Burleson, have been named to the Fall 2017 Dean’s List at McMurry. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must have maintained at least a 3.5 grade point average while taking 12 or more credit hours.
McMurry University was founded in 1923 as a United Methodist institution, and is a vibrant and comprehensive center of higher education. McMurry has a national reputation for excellence and value through the achievements of its faculty, students and graduates. The University enrolls more than 1,000 students and has an average class size of 16.

• At The University of Mary Hardin Baylor in Belton, 626 students have been listed on the Fall 2017 Provost’s Honor Roll, including three Burleson residents. To receive this recognition, a student must achieve a 3.85 grade point average (GPA) or better on a 4.0 scale. Earning the Provost’s Honor Roll were Katy Goodman, Ashley Pittman, and Marisa Pope.

Burleson Star

327 N.W. Renfro St.
PO Box 909
Burleson, TX 76028-0909

Phone: 817-295-0486
FAX: 817-295-5278